Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

For children up until the 1st September following a child’s 5th birthday (not in full time education) we work within the same Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework as nurseries and pre-schools in England.

The EYFS is split into two areas below: –

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development (focusing on Making relationships, Self-confidence and self-awareness, Managing feelings and behaviour).

Physical Development (focusing on Moving and handling, Health and self care).

Communication and Language (focusing on Listening and attention, Understanding, Speaking).

Specific Areas

Literacy (focusing on Reading and Writing).

Mathematics (focusing on Numbers, Shape, space and measure).

Understanding the World (focusing on People and communities, The world, Technology).

Expressive Arts and Design (focusing on Exploring and using media and materials, Being imaginative).

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and exploring – engagement

Finding out and exploring

Playing with what they know

Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active Learning – motivation

Being involved and concentrating

Keep trying

Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

Having their own ideas

Making links

Choosing ways to do things